On three good things in my life right now

Based on a prompt from Plinky: Share three good things in your life right now.

It’s the second to last day of NaBloPoMo.  Tomorrow I’ll be doing a short recap post talking about how the challenge went, what I think I did well, etc…  Since today is my last real post, I thought it might be nice to finish on a positive note and talk a little bit about a few things that are going well in my life right now.

1. I have a plan

The last time I was unemployed, I was miserable.  A lot of this was because I didn’t have a plan.  I was essentially letting myself rot in my office, applying for loads of shitty jobs I was never going to get interviews for.  It was disheartening to say the least, to just spin my wheels and never really get anywhere.  This time, I’m trying to do things a little differently.  Yes, I’m still applying for jobs, but I’m also exploring new hobbies like cooking and baking, both to continue learning and give me something to talk about at parties aside from being unemployed.  I’m also working on a certificate in Information and Records Management, as I discussed in an earlier entry.

I am, of course, currently on government employment insurance support.  If I don’t have a job by the time that runs out in late March, I will take out a loan and try to finish this certificate program by the end of 2014.  I will keep looking for jobs, and going to back to school full time is not my ideal, but I need to keep moving forward.  I just can’t get stuck again.  That alone is enough to lift my mood immeasurably.

2.  The weather

It may seem silly, but I couldn’t have come home to Vancouver at a better time.  We have had some of the best weather I’ve ever seen here in the past 5 months.  Our summer was hot and dry, and there’s hardly been any precipitation this fall, save for a week or two of constant rain in September.  I’ve been able to spend a lot of quality time with my dog, walking in various parks around town, and it’s been an absolute pleasure.

3.  My parents

If you know me in person, you know that I have interesting relationships with my parents.  My mother and I are very close and get along very well.  My father and I, well, it’s a different story.  He and I have had a lot of problems over the years and our relationship has been tense at best.  While I don’t think that’s ever going to dramatically change, both of my parents have been terribly supportive of me over the past few years, and in that respect I have a lot to be happy about.  Everyone has to take advantage of their best assets, and two of mine are definitely my parents.

Bonus:

4.  This bloody challenge is almost over, thank whatever.

5.  Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 5

Tags: , , ,

About commonslogic

An archivist and a nerd. Loves dogs, video games, legal dramas, and girly Japanese comics. Learning to cook and bake. Prone to rambling.

Leave a Reply

