On things that annoy me on Facebook

Based on a prompt from Plinky: List 3 types of Facebook status updates you can’t stand.

I try not to spend too much time on Facebook.  Many of my close friends have all but given it up and my feed isn’t even all that active anymore, but it is still one of the easiest ways I know of to organize events and keep in touch with some people that I’m not super close with, but still like to retain some contact with, like ex-coworkers, colleagues from graduate school, etc…  Since I’m doing this blogging challenge and taking an online course right now, I spend a lot of time on my computer, thus I’ve found myself checking my Facebook feed a lot more often, and paying more attention to what’s being put out there.  Holy crap a lot of it is annoying.  Here are the three things that bother me the most.

1.  Selfies

I know that, technically, posting a selfie is posting a photo, but I view them as a kind of visual status update.  I also don’t fervently object to posting the odd selfie, particularly if you’ve got an awesome new hair style or you’re in front of the Sphinx or some other equally awesome location.  What I don’t want to see is a daily close-up of your face with nothing in the background but a beige-painted wall.  Particularly if your comment is something like: “Hey!  Look at me!  I’m in Mexico!”  If you’re on vacation, shouldn’t you be taking photos of the sights rather than yourself in your hotel room?  Selfies with nothing to show really don’t deserve broadcasting — I just don’t care.  I haven’t de-friended anyone because of this, but I have stopped following people who do this pretty well every day.

2.  “Oh my god my life is so terrible right now what should I do about it but I really don’t want your advice and will pooh-pooh any suggestion that is remotely helpful.”

A woman I grew up with is doing a lot of this right now and it’s causing me a bit of a dilemma.  On one hand, the over-sharing grates on my nerves to no end.  On the other hand, it’s a little fun to watch the train wreck unfold.  While I know I’ve done a fair amount of internet-oversharing myself throughout the years, it has all been fairly low risk, in places where you couldn’t find me through search engines, or even figure out what my real name was.  It makes me terribly uncomfortable to see people talking about their financial problems or major work issues out in public where anyone can find them.

This is all made much worse when people start to drop by and leave advice.  I mean, it stands to reason that if you’re going to put your problems out there for everyone to see, you’re likely looking for some kind of feedback, particularly if you’re directly asking for it.  You do see some suggestions that are pretty stupid some times, but more often than not, friends usually offer advice that makes sense and is encouraging at the same time.  It drives me absolutely nuts to then see the OP, who has directly asked for advice in the first place, shoot down every suggestion provided with very little consideration.  If you really don’t want advice, if you really don’t want productive commentary on your issues, keep them to yourself.

3.  Naked photographs of children

I see a lot of photo posts these days of people’s children.  Some times I find over-sharing about children to be pretty annoying, particularly when a person spams my feed with the minutia of naps and feeding schedules.  Honestly, we don’t really care too much about how your kid had a good nap today.  I do, however, understand that these things are important to some people, so I mostly just shrug and move on.  What really irritates me is people posting photographs of their children with no clothes on.

I am a web 1.0 kind of person.  I spent a lot of time on LiveJournal reading posts from drama communities and communities that would investigate fake journals and I have seen a lot of very odd things happen on the internet. I know, then, that while they may be few and far between, there are people out there who will use your children’s photos for many nefarious purposes, from passing photographs of your children off as their own to things I don’t even want to imagine.  In my opinion, we are all far better off shielding children from the utter shittiness of the internet for as long as we can.  No matter how tight your privacy settings are, you never really know who’s looking at those photos, and I find it terribly frustrating that many new parents, who aren’t all that internet savvy, just don’t take that seriously at all.

Tags: , , ,

About commonslogic

An archivist and a nerd. Loves dogs, video games, legal dramas, and girly Japanese comics. Learning to cook and bake. Prone to rambling.

One response to “On things that annoy me on Facebook”

  1. jwhynacht28 says :

    ‘Why can’t I sleep?!?’ is a pretty good one. Probably because you’re on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

