On NaBloPoMo

Day 1 of NaBloPoMo 2013 and I’m already unenthusiastic.  This is probably a bad sign, but it’s been a busy, and fairly odd, day and hopefully every day in November won’t be like this.

Just in case you don’t know about it, NaBloPoMo stands for National Blog Posting Month.  It is generally done in November (although I know that some people do it in other months as well) and is the blogger’s version of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  The challenge is to blog daily for an entire month.

This will be my third attempt at NaBloPoMo.  I participated in 2008 and 2010 and was successful on my first try and gave up the second.  When the idea struck me about two months ago that it might be a good idea to try the challenge again, I decided to revisit these previous attempts and look at what had made 2008 so successful and what had made 2010 so crappy.  It was actually pretty interesting.  My reasons for starting the challenge were similar to this year: my writing has been on the decline lately, both in quality and frequency, and I felt that I needed some substantial motivation to get back on track with it.  In 2008 I was also motivated by friends who were preparing for NaNoWriMo.  I have always found that atmosphere surrounding NaNoWriMo to be very interesting and I have been tempted to try it out in the past, but by that time I had come to realize that writing fiction was just not for me.  NaBLoPoMo seemed like an excellent compromise for someone like me, so I went with it.

I think the greatest difference between 2008 and 2010 involved content.  I decided early on in 2008 that I wanted to write something substantial as often as I could throughout the challenge.  I wanted my NaBLoPoMo entries to be something of a time capsule for how I was living my life at that time and how I felt about it.  In 2008, keeping up with this was easy.  I had quite a number of new (or newish) interests, like video games and anime, that I was excited to write about and I was in a fairly transitional period in my  life, having just completed my Masters degree and gotten my first job in my chosen field, so I was never wanting for topics to write about.  In 2010, I was pretty unhappy and I felt like I hadn’t really changed enough, in lifestyle or perspective, to really have anything meaningful to say about many aspects of my life.  My 2010 NaBloPoMo entries were nearly all based on prompts that I wasn’t really all that excited to write about in the first place.

And so here we are now in 2013 and I think I’m ready for this again.  I have changed a lot over the past 5 years.  I’ve grown up quite a lot, I’ve changed my mind about quite a few things, and I’ve faced some significant challenges, so I think it’s the right time to stop and take stock of where I’m at and where I think I might be headed.  NaBloPoMo seems like a good excuse to do that, so really, why not?

Here’s a list of some things I will likely be writing about over the next 29 days:

  • Video games I’ve been playing
  • Books/manga I’ve been reading
  • TV series/movies/anime I’ve been watching
  • Holy shit blogging has changed in the past 5 years
  • Cooking and baking (I am very new to both these things)
  • Moving back in with your parents
  • Archival work, or lack thereof
  • Revisiting posts from 2008 and 2010 and updating them from my current perspective
  • Various personal essays on the current state of things in the world of Cathryn

I will likely really get started tomorrow with my discussion on how much blogging has changed over the past few years, which is inspired by spending time online looking for resources to do NaBloPoMo 2013.  I will be cross-posting my entries at a number of different places, including my blog on Giant Bomb (at least for the posts about video games) and also on my old livejournal and my blog on the aarinfantasy forums.

Oh, this will be so much fun!

Tags:

About commonslogic

An archivist and a nerd. Loves dogs, video games, legal dramas, and girly Japanese comics. Learning to cook and bake. Prone to rambling.

Leave a Reply

